Sound Machine
Sound Machine
Playlist Therapy featuring Athena
0:00
-29:36

Playlist Therapy featuring Athena

Say hello to the new Sound Machine podcast.

Sound Machine podcast #1: Playlist Therapy featuring Athena

In my first podcast episode, my guest Athena explains “sex butter anthems” and together we explore her inner torment from being an R&B fan.

The sound: Two people talking about music.

What we hear: The first actual audio episode of Sound Machine, soon to be distributed to wherever you get your podcasts. Press play above to start listening.

Highly stoked to be announcing I’ll be weaving in podcast episodes into your extremely free Sound Machine newsletter experience. You don’t have to do anything except get those AirPods in and press play.

This week I’m launching the Sound Machine podcast with the first installment of Playlist Therapy, a new series where I explore how playlists can help you get through life, but also how sometimes making a playlist can be its own form of inner struggle. My first guest, Hungarian wine impresario Athena Bochanis confesses to me that latest volume of Secret Sex Butter Anthems was a tough one, so we work through the allure and tension of R&B “sex butter” songs, how it feels to be an R&B fan these days, and how to work better with everybody’s least favorite music collab partner, The Algorithm.

Hope you enjoy. Need some playlist therapy? Hit me up with your playlist for a chance to be featured on the podcast.

Weekly Rotation:

Secret Sex Butter Anthems

Secret Sex Butter Anthems Vol II

Secret Sex Butter Anthems Vol III

0 Comments
Sound Machine
Sound Machine
Sound Machine broadcasts from the frontlines of audio culture. In this podcast I'll explore music, sound, and listening in the digital age, and meet with musicians, DJs, journalists and fans who help me unpack what it all means.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
William Rauscher